Lukas Foss

RECORDINGS: Mozart to Modern. Amherst Saxophone Quartet, Lukas Foss, pianist. MCA Classics

Works reviewed: 
Quintet for Piano and Wind Instruments in Eb, K. 452, W.A. Mozart
Saxophone Quartet, Lukas Foss
Lullaby, George Gershwin
Jassamine Lane, Eubie Blake
Eubie Dubie, Eubie Blake
Pittsburgh Press, The
Pittsburgh, PA
Donald Rosenberg

A few bars into Mozart's Quintet for Piano and Winds, K. 452, you suddenly realize that, no, these aren't the designated winds (oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn) of Mozart's quintet, but four saxophones who sound uncannily like the originals. Soon, the distinctive colors of the soprano, alto, tenor and baritone saxes inhabit Mozart, and the Amherst players make a convincing case for style over purism. The performance is a treat from the Amherst's occasional camouflage act to Lukas Foss' elegant pianism. Read more »

Syndicate content