Saxophone Quartet No. 2, Russell Howland

All Repertoire

Saxophone Quartet No. 2, Russell Howland
Year of Composition:    
Allegro moderato
Allegro vivace

Composer Biography

1908 — 1995

Howland, Russell, was a saxophonist and composer from California. He composed ten saxophone quartets for his own quartet to perform. Only the first two works were published, and both of those have been in the ASQ's repertory since the early 1980s. We had heard rumors that Mr. Howland had written more quartets, but we were told that they were unpublished and unavailable. In 1994, the ASQ performed with Raymond Harvey and the Fresno Philharmonic Orchestra. During the rehearsal, we were approached by one of the Orchestra's musicians who had been a member of the Howland Quartet. He offered to send us several more of the pieces. Howland's Saxophone Quartets, Numbers 2, 3, and 4 are now in the ASQ repertory.