Quintet for Violin and Saxophones (1988), Stephen Parisi

All Repertoire

Quintet for Violin and Saxophones (1988), Stephen Parisi
Year of Composition: 1988     Composed for the ASQ
Andante y placido
Vivace (Toccata)


Buffalo News (Buffalo, NY)
Monday, February 10, 1992
Changes in direction mark two Amherst Sax works
Herman Trotter

Sunday's program by the Amherst Saxophone Quartet was essentially a two-man show. The entire second half was devoted to the music of Grand Island composer Stephen Parisi and the first half spotlight shone on Robert Myers, whose Third Quartet was displayed as second prize winner in the ASQ's International Composition Competition.

Almost lost in the shuffie was the very brief Bach Prelude and Fugue in A minor transcribed by Philharmonic hornist Lowell Shaw. His sonorous setting of the Prelude and engagingly chuffy treatment of the angular Fugue made an ideal program opener.

Myers is a faculty member at Boston's Berklee School of Music, arguably the nation's leading jazz institution. Was Myers' work jazz? Not really, although music detectives could find its influences lurking here and there.

I didn't find it disagreeable in any way, just inscrutable. The first movement, marked "Robust," seemed largely aimless wandering punctuated by moments of bracing, hard-edged unison passages. The second and final movement is a double theme and variations.

Myers is obviously extremely knowledgeable about reed instruments. His music is full of fascinating textures, his sonic palette is always changing in almost kaleidoscopic fashion, and the quiet concluding chord was satisfying in a way which almost convinced that his music was not inscrutable, just misunderstood.

Parisi's music was a welcome antidote. The first movement of his recently completed Saxophone Quartet (11 years in the works) was also full of changes in direction, but with much more apparent reason and effect. It's sort of like a pastiche of old baroque dances updated, richly scored and bitingly harmonized, the second an easy swinging reverie and the finale a high velocity, chattery and syncopated romp, extraordinarily well played.

There were three brief premieres. "Marquez" for solo tenor, played By Rosenthal, was a very thoughtful and measured expansion of great inner beauty of the soulful melody played at the outset, while Sal Andolina and Russ Carere played "4 Pieces for 2 Clarinets," engaging miniatures in chirping sonority and playful canonic imitation. "I Sugo" was an innovation, with Harry Fackelman's baritone sax joined by marimbist Raymond Bennett in patterns of considerable rhythmic excitement and some unusual unison baritone-marimba sonorities.

The concert closed with Philharmonic violinist Ansgarius Aylward joining the quartet for Parisi's 1988 Quintet for Violin and Saxophones. The work treats the violin not as a solo instrument, but as an added ensemble member which softens group timbre and perhaps focuses it more narrowly.

Quartet No. 1 (1992), Stephen Parisi
Quintet for Violin and Saxophones (1988), Stephen Parisi
Third Quartet, Robert Myers
Changes in direction mark two Amherst Sax works

Composer Biography

1955 —

STEPHEN PARISI (b. 1955) was born in Buffalo to music loving parents who started him on piano at the age of seven. By the time he was 10 he had already written over 50 compositions. His passion for music and ambition to become a composer led him to the University at Buffalo on a full Fine Arts Scholarship. He studied piano with Yvar Mikhashoff and composition with Leo Smit and obtained a Masters of Fine Arts in Music degree. He has written numerous works for the Amherst Saxophone Quartet. Two movements of his Saxophone Quartet No.1 were performed by the ASQ at Carnegie Hall in 1982. His music is characterized by facility, heartfelt melodies, syncopated rhythms, counterpoint, and lush jazz harmonies.